Painting an Apartment

Happy belated Labor Day!

I had such a fabulous long weekend, I definitely have PPD (Post-Party-Depression). But in honor of Labor Day I did attempt some manual labor in my apartment. It all started on Friday at work. I was painting my gallery’s basement and I thought well I am already a dirty mess I might as well paint my apartment…

So that’s what I did, ( I know, a really rockin’ Friday night, but I made up for the next couple of days…) I stopped by Home Depot on the way home and picked up these colors:

-1

The color palette I was going for was soft but still make the apartment bright and at least feel airy. There is a long hallway that starts at the front door and cuts right down the middle of the apartment, not letting in much light, so I wanted to make sure that it didn’t feel like a dungeon. I used Painter’s White for the hallway and burnished clay for the living room and the snowy pine for all the trim.

Bruin was super impressed by my color selection as you can see…

-2

So here is a little before action, the walls are filled with weird little marks and the paint is a little too shiny for my liking. I went with the ‘egg shell’ type of paint.

-1 -3

And here is a little after action (sorry it’s so dark, I had to work late last night!)

-1 -3
I am super happy with the results! It feels like a different room! I also decluttered and bought a huge plant in place of a shelf that was filled with bric-a-brac… but I’m heading to Brimfield this weekend, so I might need to bust out that shelf…

One comment

Leave a Reply

