Q & A with Designer Kelly DeWitt

DSC_0328-1DSC_0326-copy

I first found Kelly’s beautiful work on instagram (follow her at @kkdwco).  And as you can see from all of the photos (all Kelly’s!) You can understand why MSD wanted to know more about about her! photo
I love your design vibe – where do you think your Texan flair fits in?
I admire the simplicity and thoughtfulness of traditional American design and sort of naturally fell into creating pieces that are inspired by that. I found myself building furniture that carried that same attention to quality and functionality, but that also played with scale and material to produce something that appeals to my modern sense as well. I grew up in Texas, but my family also moved around and traveled quite a bit, which exposed me to design of all styles, allowing me to sort of absorb it all and now, as a furniture maker, create things that are a happy amalgam of what I’m drawn to most. 

How did you get started with wood working and welding?
I learned my way around a workshop by building wooden boxes, which may seem like a strange start, but something that I think laid the groundwork for all the theory behind my furniture-building. My box design is based on traditional cabinet drawer engineering—using only joinery, no nails or screws. I spent a great deal of time and material finessing and work-shopping the box design to what it is now, and I think that understanding the quality that should go into something that will outlive you, even if it’s a box, is an important lesson that I’m fortunate to have learned early on. Travis, my partner, is the welder behind the steelwork that’s incorporated into my designs.

photo-1
I have plant stand envy – Those pieces are beautiful! How long have you been making those? And typically how long does it take you to complete a stand?
The plant stand design had been floating around my head for a year or so before any prototypes were built. Finally, after several failed attempts at scale models using dowel rods or pipe cleaners, we just went for it and welded the design together in steel. It worked, and the design hasn’t altered much since those first prototypes (which still reside proudly in my home).photo-2
Besides selling your pieces in your online shop – where else do you sell your work?
At the moment, KKDW goods are available in a few brick-and-mortar shops, and I’m looking forward to expanding the KKDW online shop in the coming months to include a variety of plant stands, furniture, serving boards, and other projects I’ve been working on.

What would be the your dream piece to make?
Travis and I spend a lot of time daydreaming about the workshop-living space we hope to build together. While we’ve both witnessed firsthand the pains—literal and physical—that building a home from the ground up can cause, I’m very excited to one day take on that labor of love.

Where do you see your work heading in the future?
I’m looking forward to focusing on a cohesive line of furniture and home goods in the coming year.DSC_0059
Thank you to Kelly for sharing her story with Munro Shea Designs and for allowing us to share her beautiful Instagram photos! For more information about Kelly and her work, check out her website here.

One comment

Leave a Reply

