I Need Those Pineapples

Do you ever have those moments? Those moments of seeing something just because they have it you want it… It all started last week – while enjoying one of my favorite blogs, Young House Love… They occasionally post about house crashing, and they crashed the cutest town house across the pond. Here are some snap shots of this gorgeous house (love the blue in the dining room) and then

be still my heart – I saw those brass pineapple wall sconces… and I NEEDED THEM TOO

Swoon-Living-1-Fireplace

Yes, needing brass pineapple wall sconces is a bit intense, but I also needed them on a nostalgic level. Living in New England, so many houses have pineapple decor (especially brass pineapple door knockers) and I asked Mama Shea one day way back when, “Why does everyone weirdly have pineapple decorations in their houses?” And she told me that back in the day, sea captains would come back from sailing the Caribbean and put fruit from their travels over their doors or on their fences to let friends, neighbors and family know that the captain had returned safely. Pineapples are a symbol of hospitality, and now you see why, with the nostalgic anecdote and love of 1970’s-hollywood-regency-home-accents – why I needed them! I searched online and found the best deal on Ebay:

Screen Shot 2014-03-01 at 11.27.54 PMThese little beauties were $10 and were one of the cheapest options, Etsy was a ranging from $20-30! I think I made a good choice – here they are in my house! I’ve got a sexy-ole-lady thing going on my office!

photo-5 copy photo-5

One comment

Leave a Reply

